Several Bears, Eagles on IMAC’s All-District squad

SC’s Brewer is Coach of the Year
Nov. 19, 2012 @ 02:05 AM


Now that the season is has ended for all of the teams in District 2-AAA, its time for the post-season awards to begin coming in.
The IMAC’s annual football awards were announced Tuesday, Nov. 12, and, as expected, the Sevier County Smoky Bears were the big winners.
Coach Steve Brewer earned the conference’s Coach of the Year award, while senior linebacker Dexter Robbins was the league’s Defensive Player of the Year.
Brewer guided his Bears to their fourth IMAC title in four seasons playing in the league, and his Bears are currently on a 20-game conference winning streak.
“That (award) goes to the staff really,” Brewer said Tuesday evening. “Our assistant coaches do so much of the hands-on coaching and teaching. (Being the head coach is) like being a quarterback, you get way too much credit and way too much criticism.
“I’ll accept it on behalf of our coaching staff, people just need to realize that head coaches get awards like this because of the work that their assistant coaches do.”
In all, 13 players from Sevier County High School and five from Seymour were honored by the IMAC.
Robbins led Sevier County in tackles (121), tackles for loss (16), and tied for the team lead with three sacks, while he also blocked a kick, had an interception and returned a fumble for a touchdown.
“He had a great year,” Brewer said. “Actually he’s had two great years (2011-12).
“But this year he’s really elevated his game, and he’s been one of those guys defensively that offenses have to be aware of.
“He’s worked hard to get to this point. He’s gotten stronger by working out, and he’s gotten faster by running track.
“It’s quite impressive to have an outside linebacker to be the lead leg in your 4x100 and 4x200 teams that make it to the state meet. Add that to his physicality and it’s quite a combination.”
In addition to Robbins, eight other Bears were named to the IMAC’s first team.
Wide receivers Logan McCarter and Dillon Cate were both honored, as was quarterback Luke Manning.
McCarter had 39 catches for 763 yards and 13 receiving touchdowns. An explosive athlete, McCarter also had a rushing score, two punt return TDs and an interception return touchdown.
Cate, who’s now No. 2 on the school’s all-time receptions list, hauled in 42 passes for 727 yards and seven receiving TDs.
Manning had the best passing stats of any quarterback in the league — 2,311 yards, 30 touchdowns and five interceptions — and also ran well (431 yards and six TDs).
Offensive linemen Wil Keener and Chaz McKinney were also on the first-team offense, as was kicker Jared Baxter (50-51 extra points, 7-of-8 field goals).
Joining Robbins on the defensive side are defensive end Ralph Watson (92 tackles, 16 for loss, three fumble recoveries) and defensive back Jacob Whaley.
Seymour’s first-team honorees were wide receiver D.J. Griffin (48 catches, 738 yards, four TDs) and defensive back Chris Grimo (71 tackles, four interceptions, two forced fumbles).
The Eagles had three players named to the second-team defense, quarterback Nick Sexton (1,783 yards, 14 TDs, 11 INTs), running back Tanner Sise (613 yards, nine TDs) and wide receiver Corey Heard (386 yards, five TDs).
Sevier County had four players tabbed for the second team. Defensive lineman Ray Smith (61 tackles, one sack), linebacker Colby Bailey (97 tackles, two sacks, two fumbles recovered), linebacker Peyton Otis (77 tackles, one sack) and punter Jeffrey Henry (37.9 average, tops in the IMAC).
2012 All-IMAC Football
Coach of the Year: Steve Brewer – Sevier County
Offensive Player of the Year: Ty Ryans – Cherokee
Defensive Player of the Year: Dexter Robbins – Sevier County
Athlete of the Year: Matt Thompson – Morristown East



2012 All-IMAC Football Second Team


QB – Luke Manning – Sevier County
RB – Malachi Horton – Morristown West
RB – Dearies Jones – Jefferson County
RB – D.J. Haney – Cocke County
WR – DJ Griffin – Seymour
WR – Logan McCarter – Sevier County
WR – Dillon Cate – Sevier County
WR – Tanner Trent – Cherokee
TE – Hunter Carter – Morristown West
TE – Brice Cusick – Jefferson County
OL – Andy Bacon – Morristown West
OL – Will Cureton – Morristown West
OL – Wil Keener – Sevier County
OL – Chaz McKinney – Sevier County
OL – Jake Talley – Jefferson County
OL – Trey King – Jefferson County
K – Jared Baxter – Sevier County


DL – Ralph Watson – Sevier County
DL – Michael Hackney – Jefferson County
DL – Dennis Mongon – South-Doyle
DL – Anthony Hamilton – South-Doyle
DL – Julian Goines – South-Doyle
LB – Dylan Dockery – Cocke County
LB – Alex Williams – Jefferson County
LB – Samuel Perry – South-Doyle
LB – Cole Russell – Cherokee
DB – Garrett Salansky – Morristown West
DB – Chris Grimo – Seymour
DB – Jacob Whaley – Sevier County
DB – Jay Vines – Jefferson County
P – Jose Esparza – Jefferson County


2012 All-IMAC Football Second Team
QB – Nick Sexton – Seymour
RB – Tanner Sise – Seymour
RB – Jocquez Bruce – South-Doyle
RB – Chase Brunson – Morristown East
WR – Drew Epps – Morristown West
WR – Corey Heard – Seymour
WR – Ethan Hagood – Cherokee
TE – Sam Hooper – Cocke County
OL – Tyler Johnson – Morristown West
OL – Mason McNutt – South-Doyle
OL – Sam Gunn – Cocke County
OL – Madison Bliss – South-Doyle
OL – Brian Dyer – Cherokee
K – Zippy Capps – Morristown West


DL – Maurice Sarden – Morristown East
DL – Tyler Sandstrom – Morristown West
DL – Ray Smith – Sevier County
DL – Marquise Menendez – Jefferson County
LB – Colby Bailey – Sevier County
LB – Wesley Raney – South-Doyle
LB – Jacob Jones – South-Doyle
LB – Peyton Otis – Sevier County
DB – Landon Raby – South-Doyle
DB – Jake Carideo – South-Doyle
DB – Andrew Testerman – Cherokee
DB – Hunter Nies – Morristown West
P – Jeffrey Henry – Sevier County