County’s quarterbacks are IMAC’s best

Nov. 13, 2013 @ 01:01 AM

Two of the IMAC’s best quarterbacks reside in Sevier County.

Sevier County’s Luke Manning is the conference’s offensive player of the year while Seymour’s Nick Sexton is the All-IMAC first team QB after productive seasons at their respective schools. Smoky Bears coach Steve Brewer was voted coach of the year at the conference’s annual meeting after leading Sevier County to its fifth straight IMAC title.

Sexton finished the year with 1,660 yards passing and 14 touchdowns to just four interceptions. He completed 48.2 percent of the passes he attempted. Manning completed 64 percent of his 270 pass attempts, throwing for 2,513 yards this fall. He had 29 touchdowns and 12 interceptions. He also rushed for 216 yards and six more touchdowns.

Four other Bears were named to the first team offense: wideouts Devante Matthews and Jacob Whaley; lineman Chaz McKinney and kicker Paul Butuza. Lineman Seth Arwood and defensive back Dalton Ford made the first team defense.

Sexton was joined by teammate Larry Kennedy on the first team offense. Seymour punter JJ Jerman made the first team defense. Eagles linebacker Jaylen Minefield and defensive back Devin Davenport made the second team defense.

Sevier County was represented on the second team offense by wideout Connor Bailey and lineman Matt Cole. Defensive lineman Julio Godoy was named to the second team defense.

Ben Ogle, Dorian Banks, Manny Lee, Bailey Fields, Jesse Adams and Austin Rice earned honorable mention for the Bears. Blaise Rooney, Cody Huff, Luke Wade and Tanner Sise got the same nod for Seymour.