IMAC champ Bears play again Saturday

Will host loser of Daniel Boone vs. Sullivan South in round 1 of region
Feb. 18, 2013 @ 08:52 AM

After winning a thrilling District 2-AAA championship game Saturday night, the Sevier County Smoky Bears now play a waiting game.

Coach Ken Wright’s boys in purple and white (26-4 overall) won’t know until tonight who they’ll face in the first round of the Region 1-AAA tournament. And even after they know, it’ll be a long wait until Saturday to actually play — which will be on the Bears’ home court.

“We’ll play the No. 4 seed over there, but that’s a very good district,” Wright said Saturday night. “We were in the same position last year, and we got beat by a really good Dobyns-Bennett team that was a No. 2 seed that got upset (and ended up fourth); they beat us by two.”

The Bears will play the loser of Daniel Boone (20-9 overall) vs. Sullivan South (14-15), who collide in the District 1-AAA consolation game tonight at Daniel Boone.

“We’re going to enjoy this (championship win), then we’ll find out Monday night who we’re going to play,” Wright said. “ I’ll go over there Monday night and watch, and we’ll start getting a gameplan for Saturday night.”

Sevier County's Bearettes, after finishing fourth in the IMAC tourney, will face the champion of District 1-AAA, which will be determined tonight. The Bearettes' likely opponent will be Science Hill, the state's second-ranked AAA team.


After the 2-AAA girls and boys championships Saturday night, the conference named its All-Tournament players.

Sevier County’s Devin Schmidt earned tournament MVP, while teammates Jacob Whaley and Logan McCarter each earned an All-Tournament nod.

“We tied for the regular-season champs, and we only got two guys on that (regular season) All-District team,” Wright said. “I really felt that Logan McCarter deserved to be on that All-District team, too. Of course, we nominated more than that. But he made the All-Tournament team tonight, so I’m really proud of him for that.”

Sevier County Lady Bears Taylor Chapman and Brittany Tarr both earned All-Tournament selections as well, as did Seymour’s D.J. Griffin on the boys side.