Opinion

Jan. 31, 2014 @ 11:29 PM

Editorial: Three cheers

While this week’s snowstorm wasn’t a large as many that have hit the area in year’s past, there was a factor that made it unique — it’s surprising arrival.


Jan. 30, 2014 @ 11:51 PM

Editorial: Second Amendment vs. property rights makes for great debate

An interesting situation is brewing in the state legislature as two fundamental conservative principles are headed for a showdown on the Senate floor next week.


Jan. 29, 2014 @ 11:41 PM

Editorial: What are the costs of raising the minimum wage?

On the surface, who wouldn’t want employers to pay a “living wage?”


Jan. 29, 2014 @ 11:30 PM

Letter: Reader says president didn’t better things with super majority

I am not sure whether Mr. Medley (letter to the editor, Jan. 23) is confused or just plain uninformed. What I am sure of, based on his many letters to the editor, is that Sevier County is too conservative for him.


Jan. 28, 2014 @ 11:32 PM

Dan Smith: My thoughts on the Super Bowl

This coming Sunday is Super Bowl Sunday. Now I know that this won’t interest everyone, but it is a once a year ritual that we go through in this country, as we watch the two best NFL teams. Football is not just a man’s game, many women really enjoy, and get into these winter spectaculars.


Jan. 28, 2014 @ 11:31 PM

Editorial: DCS needs to show marked improvement

Every few months it seems a new scandal involving the Tennessee Department of Children's Services surfaces.


Jan. 28, 2014 @ 11:21 PM

Letter: Boosters say thanks

Aaron’s Rental donated $1,500 to Northview Academy Athletic Boosters.  Northview Academy opened its doors for students in August 2013.  This donation will help supplement funds of programs that may not be supported in the school district budget. 


Jan. 28, 2014 @ 11:20 PM

Letter: Equality not just for those with whom we agree

Scripture is as good as those who interpret it.


Jan. 27, 2014 @ 11:17 PM

Editorial: Judge must be firm with Y-12 protesters, but some leniency needed

This morning in Knoxville, a U.S. District Judge will sentence the three Catholic peace activists convicted of sabotage last year for breaking into the Y-12 National Security Complex in Oak Ridge.


Jan. 27, 2014 @ 12:59 AM

Jason Davis: Strange tales from the newsroom

The life of a journalist is never dull. There's rarely a day that goes by that doesn't hold at least one "Did that really just happen?" moment.


Jan. 27, 2014 @ 12:58 AM

Fighting the flu

As you likely read on the front page of today's paper, flu season is in full swing in Tennessee, and it's going gangbusters in our third of the state.


Jan. 25, 2014 @ 11:50 PM

Letter: Prescriptions not the answer to stop meth

Senator Overbey and other legislators are pushing for a prescription requirement for safe over-the-counter cold medicines – legislation that has gone nowhere in the past. They seem to think it’s a cure-all for Tennessee’s meth problem. But these people ignore the burden it will put on Tennesseans who abide by the law.


Jan. 24, 2014 @ 11:49 PM

Editorial: Three cheers

Free classes on just about everything outdoors are available, today through Feb. 1, as LeConte Center at Pigeon Forge hosts Wilderness Wildlife Week.


Jan. 24, 2014 @ 11:41 PM

Letter: U.S. shouldn't be nation builders

As an addendum to my earlier letter to the editor (Dec. 17) concerning our country's — both government and citizenry — lack of support for our military another another thing our citizens and our government should understand.


Jan. 23, 2014 @ 11:56 PM

Letter: Of course Tea Party is pro-Republican

The Tea Party Chairman suggested in his letter (Jan. 19) that a false perception that the Tea Party is Pro-Republican and Anti Democrat exists. I think it is true perception because they support the GOP extreme right wing.


Jan. 23, 2014 @ 11:29 PM

Editorial: Voucher plan will garner passionate pleas from both sides

While just the mention of school voucher programs can start a shouting match between even the closest of friends, it's likely coming to a water cooler, living room or office near you.


Jan. 22, 2014 @ 11:57 PM

Editorial: Annual Wilderness Wildlife Week is great for community

The 24th annual Wilderness Wildlife Week — billed as “the ultimate Smoky Mountain experience” — starts this weekend at LeConte Center at Pigeon Forge.


Jan. 21, 2014 @ 11:56 PM

Editorial: Exercise is important, and our county has plenty of opportunities

During a time of year when many citizens are trying to stick to New Year’s resolutions about fighting the battle of the bulge, some disturbing news came out last week in Atlanta.


Jan. 21, 2014 @ 11:25 PM

Letter: Reader argues for raise to minimum wage

Income inequality will be the defining issue for the coming year. Undeniably, Wall Street and corporations are experiencing record gains and profits leading to more wealth and, at the same time, more income inequality than at any time since the 1920s.


Jan. 21, 2014 @ 11:10 PM

Ask the doc: What's the deal with drug ads?

Doc: Does anyone ever ask for one of those advertised drugs after hearing all of the possible side effects the drugs can cause?


Jan. 20, 2014 @ 11:44 PM

Editorial: Joining in celebration of MLK

Every year, in the days and weeks leading up to Martin Luther King Jr. Day, you can hear the whispers.


Jan. 20, 2014 @ 12:12 AM

Jason Davis: Political opinions not my stong suit

Last week I received a reader complaint that my column wasn’t political enough.


Jan. 20, 2014 @ 12:10 AM

Public Notice Week: Something to celebrate

Residents of Mt. Judea, Ark., woke up one morning recently to learn that their small community is about to become host to a hog farm – population 6,503 hogs.



Jan. 17, 2014 @ 11:31 PM

Editorial: Three cheers

Smoky Mountain Area Rescue Ministry officials announced this week that the group would be reviving its mentoring program in the coming year.