Opinion

Feb. 09, 2015 @ 01:53 PM

Editorial: Wilderness Wildlife Week exceeds expectations

Whether it was the cooperating weather, lower gas prices or a full slate of events and programs, this year’s Wilderness Wildlife Week was a runaway success.


Feb. 08, 2015 @ 01:03 PM

Jason Davis: Here are some random thoughts on a winter day

A busy week left my notebook full of column ideas, so here’s a little bit of this and that from the files:


Feb. 08, 2015 @ 01:01 PM

Autism speaks, we should listen

Today is Autism Sunday, also known as the International Day of Prayer for Autism and Asperger’s syndrome.


Feb. 06, 2015 @ 03:10 PM

Editorial: Three cheers

Congratulations to Sevier County Sheriff's Office and Animal Control Officer Phil King, who this week earned a citation from the the Humane Society of the United States for his work in a case that ended what authorities allege was a breeding operation for illegal dogfighting.


Feb. 05, 2015 @ 12:45 PM

Editorial: Sevier County football stars make commitments on signing day

As Tennessee Volunteers fans across the state were celebrating coach Butch Jones' incredible 2015 recruiting haul on National Signing Day, a number of folks across Sevier County were celebrating as well.


Feb. 04, 2015 @ 02:43 PM

Letter: America needs to do more about the scourge of terror

I have just read the headline from the latest atrocity to come from the evil that is the self-proclaimed ISIS.


Feb. 03, 2015 @ 02:24 PM

Editorial: Help for veterans coming

If you want to find common ground between Democrats and Republicans in Washington, propose a measure to provide support for America's veterans.


Feb. 03, 2015 @ 11:34 AM

Ask the Doc: Measles outbreak proves it's a small world

David Edmonston was 11 years old in 1954. He had no idea he was going to be a part of a medical breakthrough likely saving thousands of lives and reducing suffering in children for decades to come.


Feb. 02, 2015 @ 05:52 PM

Editorial: Pigeon Forge High School brings another trophy home

Over the last decade plus, Pigeon Forge wrestling coach Greg Foreman, his staff and dozens of dedicated wrestlers have built a dynasty in the heart of Sevier County.


Jan. 30, 2015 @ 04:13 PM

Editorial: Three cheers

The smiles and laughs spreading through the gathered crowd of residents and staff at Ft. Sanders Sevier Nursing Home earlier this week were infectious.


Jan. 29, 2015 @ 05:34 PM

Editorial: Free self-defense training for women is a no-brainer

It’s something you never expect. A physical confrontation or attack is probably the last thing on your mind.


Jan. 28, 2015 @ 12:52 PM

Editorial: Seat belts save lives

Through some clerical error in a state office, The Mountain Press receives almost daily fax updates of traffic fatalities across East Tennessee from the Tennessee Highway Patrol.


Jan. 27, 2015 @ 03:58 PM

Letter: Closed primaries aren’t the way to go

The article in the Sunday, Jan. 25 edition of The Mountain Press, page A6, is somewhat disturbing.


Jan. 27, 2015 @ 03:57 PM

Michael Collins: Avoiding people isn’t what Jesus would do

I am not a Democrat. No surprise there for those who know me.


Jan. 26, 2015 @ 01:51 PM

Editorial: Take advantage of Wilderness Wildlife Week's free offerings

When Wildness Wildlife Week started 25 years ago, it's likely no one could have imagined that the annual celebration and educational conference would grow into the massive event we have today.


Jan. 25, 2015 @ 12:41 AM

Stan Voit: ‘Selma’ evokes flood of memories

There is a scene in the movie “Selma” when the marchers are heading down Water Avenue in their first attempt to cross the bridge as a symbolic show of unity. Suddenly they pass right by The Selma Times-Journal newspaper building, make a sharp right, then start to cross the bridge.


Jan. 25, 2015 @ 12:40 AM

Are controversial standards seeing support waiver?

First Gov. Bill Haslam was unequivocally behind Common Core standards.


Jan. 22, 2015 @ 06:13 PM

Editorial: This miserable, wonderful UT basketball season

When it comes to men’s basketball coaches, the University of Tennessee is under a black cloud.


Jan. 21, 2015 @ 02:25 PM

Editorial: Is State of the Union speech stale?

The annual State of the Union address, meant to fulfill the rules in Article II, Section 3 of the U.S. Constitution, has changed wildly since George Washington's initial message to a joint session of Congress on Jan. 7, 1790.


Jan. 20, 2015 @ 04:49 PM

Letter: Medicaid expansion helps those who need it

On Jan. 13, this paper published an article, “Insure Tennessee could generate $1.14 billion,” in which Justin Owen, president and CEO of the Beacon Center of Tennessee stated “Medicaid expansion is a multi-million dollar band-aid on a massive wound; it just won’t work.”


Jan. 20, 2015 @ 04:48 PM

Ask the Doc: Why can allergies be worse in winter?

I threw our Christmas tree out the back door at 9:10 a.m. Christmas morning. I regret I didn’t do it sooner.


Jan. 19, 2015 @ 12:00 PM

Editorial: Are traffic cameras highway robbery?

State Rep. Andy Holt, a Republican from Dresden, is fighting for thousands of Tennesseans with his latest crusade to end red-light and speed cameras across the state.


Jan. 18, 2015 @ 12:33 AM

Jason Davis: Awards, honors shouldn’t come with strings attached

I first met Ms. Mary when I was working as a reporter at the LaFollette Press back in my hometown of LaFollette, Tenn.


Jan. 16, 2015 @ 10:57 AM

Editorial: Three cheers

Sevier County's Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration Committee has been hard at work planning and rehearsing for its annual event to honor the civil rights leader on Monday.


Jan. 15, 2015 @ 12:06 PM

Letter: Tell government we don't need more fuel tax

Your government, some elected representatives, lobbyists and bureaucrats are at work today attempting to take your only increase in disposable income in the past 10 years, perhaps longer.