Fox, McGill elected in Sevierville; Ownby defeated

New aldermen take office on Monday
May. 03, 2013 @ 09:06 AM

The Board of Mayor and Aldermen will have a new look starting Monday.

Robbie Fox and Jim McGill defeated incumbent Maxine Ownby in the Sevierville Municipal Election on Thursday and will serve the next four years on the city's BOMA. They will join Aldermen Travis McCroskey, Devin Koester and Wayne Helton on the panel.

Fox received 571 votes, McGill 510 votes and Ownby received 471. The three were running for two seats on the board.

After the polls closed at 8 p.m., election commission chairman J.B. Matthews announced early-voting results to a small crowd gathered at the Civic Center to hear the returns. All three candidates were among those at the polling place.

Then, after they were counted, Matthews announced Tuesday's totals. Everyone did their own math, adding up Tuesday and early returns. The anxious mood turned to hushed congratulations all around.

"I feel humbled and honored for the vote and the confidence the voters put in me," Fox, the former city police chief, said. "I look forward to working with the other council members and the mayor."

"Robbie and me, we're the new guys on the block," McGill, membership coordinator for the Chamber of Commerce, said, "and I look forward to working with everybody."

Mayor Bryan Atchley, who wasunopposed for re-election, was seen hugging Ownby, saying he was proud of her.

"It was a tough race because each of us would have done a good job," Ownby said. She was appointed to fill the unexpired term of her husband, Claude Ownby, when he died. "We're good friends, and I wish all three of us could have won. They'll both do a good job. They're good people."

Ownby said she still plans to be actively involved in the community.

"I said all along, the one winner of this election would be the city of Sevierville," Atchley said. "We had three quality people running. The only thing I hate is one of them had to lose."

Fox and McGill will serve four-year terms. They will be sworn in Monday at the next Board of Mayor and Aldermen meeting.

Atchley ran unopposed. He was re-elected for another two-year term, extending his record for longest-serving mayor.